top of page
Search
  • Writer's pictureMisty Scrimgeour

How will I display sound on my soundboard?

Updated: Apr 3, 2020

Research into infographics:

Looking at colour


To start off I looked up 'colours associated with cities' and this link popped up; https://www.curbed.com/2017/11/8/16615202/color-cities-psychology-architecture .

It started off with describing London as 'grey' but then added that it also has a 'golden' charm to it and that each city has its own colour pallet. Perhaps this is something to consider when deciding on my colour scheme.


https://www.smashingmagazine.com/2010/01/color-theory-for-designers-part-1-the-meaning-of-color/ Very useful website in understanding the connotations of colours in design.


Below on the left is a poster by the Tate, the design features the names of landmarks, songs, food and other cultural features that make up this vibrant and unique city.



I think this is really ugly, but its useful in classifying the main colours associated with London.

"London’s coloured cityscape palette takes on the tones of grey in London, giving the city a professional feel. Broken up by a deep, rich red and a subtle blue, London’s humanity colours its landscape just like its weather."



Made a little zine which shows my process in determining how I want to display sound.




 

Patterns and Symbols


Looking into sign language to me create symbols for each sound.

I'm still not sure if I'm going to use symbols as it may look a bit too messy but it is good exploration.




Oskar Fischinger, an American-German Animator

“…music is not limited to the world of sounds. There exists a music of the visual world.” Oskar Fischinger 
(“Statement about Painting”, in Frank Perls Gallery exhibition catalogue (Beverly Hills: Frank Perls Gallery, 1951)

Most of his films were designed to accompany specific pieces of music, and have no narrative or figurative content beyond an attempt to express the essence of the music visually.

Rather than being direct expressions or illustrations of music, his sound films explore various relationships between image and sound.


"He was really exploring abstract patterns, but with a purpose to them — pioneering what technically is the music video." Chip Kidd in an interview with NPR.




László Moholy-Nagy

Missing for over 80 years, this experimental film by Bauhaus teacher and artist László Moholy-Nagy was found by BFI. His early optical sound films experimented with the formal properties of film and blurred the lines between sound and image and the act of hearing and seeing sound. Moholy’s ABC runs a playful gamut from geometric to textures, cartoon faces, and typography, even apparently including his own fingerprints.



Frames from ABC:


My own animations:

I made this during the 'What if' exercise. Think it is quite a funny video that plays around with visualising sound through shapes, texture and colour.

To make my project my interactive I think i'm going to make an animation on my soundboard.





Playing around with Adobe Audition:


15 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page